Homemade Chilli Flakes

I love adding chilli to my food.

I like the taste of the birds eye chilli even more when it’s fresh in a Kachumbari salad. A couple of weeks ago, I went grocery shopping at Marikiti Market in Nairobi and got a bag full of chillis. I know.. šŸ¤£ a bag full sounds like its alot but in my household that bags runs out pretty fast. After a couple of days some of the chilli started looking like it was going bad.. so I decided to make homemade sun dried chilli flakes.

Sun dried Chilli flakes last longer and it’s a way of preserving the chilli for a longer shelf life in addition to saving me cash šŸ’°

THE DRYING PROCESS.

I cleaned the chilli and spread them on a flat plate.

I later placed the plate on a sunny spot on my balcony for 2-3 weeks to completly dry.

Alternatively, you can use a food dehydrator. It’s faster when it comes to drying.

After they were completly dry.. I ground them using a grinder cup on my blender and vwala!!

Grinding with a Grinder Cup
Final product : Chilli Flakes

If you don’t like the hot chilli flakes.. you can remove the seeds and grind the skin only to make it a little mild.

STORAGE

I always keep my herbs and spices in airtight glass jars. This helps keep moisture away which in turn gives the chilli flakes a longer shelf life.

For the Recipe Video

Remember to tag @cookingwithnimoh if you get to try out this recipe.. I’d like to see how it goes.

Happy Cooking šŸ˜Š

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.