Ugali Mboga | Sukumawiki (Collard Greens) + Spinach

Hey there,

Toady we are making Ugali Mboga.

Ugali is the Kenyan version of corn meal and it is consumed in every household. I like having my ugali with local veggies which are collard greens mixed with spinach.

Growing up, my mum used to prepare this often.

I will share how I make sauteed sukumawiki with onions. This method is borrowed from my mum. She doesn`t like tomatoes in her veggies due to acidy so I grew fond of having my veggies the same way as her. The recipe is super simple and I often serve this as a side dish to a main meal like beef stew.

Let`s begin.

Serves 2-3 Decent Portions

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 big bunch of Sukumawiki/Collard Greens
  • 1 big bunch of Spinach
  • 1 large onion
  • Enough cooking oil for sautéing
  • 1/4 Tsp Salt
  • Beef Cube (Optional)

METHOD

**TIP**

Saute/cook the onions to a golden brown colour. Make sure not to burn it. The browning of the onions will add a nice flavour to the veggies.

I don`t really like the taste of beef/chicken cubes but if you do please feel free to add it.

Enjoy 😉

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.